Understanding Virginia’s DUI Laws
In Virginia, driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense that is taken very seriously by the law. The legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in Virginia is 0.08% for individuals who are 21 years of age or older. However, for drivers under the age of 21, a BAC of 0.02% or higher can result in DUI charges. Be sure you have a highly skilled dui attorney at your side when you are in court.
Different Offenses for DUI Charges
Your first DUI offense usually results in the court suspending your driver’s license for up to one year. The court may also impose a fine between $250 to $2,500. It will also be mandatory for you to complete an alcohol education program or treatment program thru the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP). Finally the court may require the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Your second offense will result in the court suspending your driver’s license for a period of three years, and you can face a fine from $500 to $2,500. The court will impose a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 20 days (10 days if your second offense occurred within five years of the first offense). The court will impose the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
On your third and final offense the court will suspend your driver’s license indefinitely and impose a fine between $1,000 and $2,500. The courts will also impose a mandatory minimum jail sentence of at least 6 months. The court will require the installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
Hire Montgomery, Kelley, & Dennett to Represent You!
It’s important to note that these penalties can vary based on the specific circumstances of the case, such as BAC level, prior convictions, and other factors. Additionally, DUI offenses can have serious consequences beyond legal penalties, including increased insurance rates, employment difficulties, and impact on personal reputation. If you or someone you know is facing DUI charges, it is strongly recommended to consult with a qualified attorney who can provide personalized legal advice based on the specific situation.
Here at Montgomery, Kelley & Dennett we pride ourselves on providing world class DUI attorney services to each client we serve. We look forward to serving you and all your legal needs in Hampton areas. Call Now! 757.229.8284